I am the Pretty Guardian, Sailor Mars!

Here begins my first costume progress of 2017. Sailor Mars! I’ve honestly never watched much of the show, but recently I went to a movie screening here in Columbus, Ohio with two of my friends. They both are HUGE Sailor Moon fans. I’ve been convinced to absorb in as much of the anime I can.

A group of friends and fellow cosplayers are planning to gather a large group of sailor scouts at ACEN 2017. We will be a mixed bag of buying and sewing our own costumes. I am of course constructing as much of mine own as possible. The convention is not until the middle of May, so I’m jumping the gun here.

How exciting though, I love group cosplay!

I’ve read several different sailor fuku tutorials, and pulled bits and pieces that I like best. I am constructing my costume to mimic her original anime appearance.

  • Team Blase Cosplay has a great tutorial online with pointers –  Link
  • Crystal Lake Skating Outfit Pattern  – Link
  • Collar Pattern – Link

Below is material cut from various patterns and thrown up on my mannequin form. (She does me well!) A lot of the tutorials I’ve seen show a pleated skirt, but I really want to follow a circle skirt pattern. So far it appears much more ‘flowy.’

I have assembled the majority of the leotard. I also have an underpants portion to go under the skirt. I am still debating if I want to dress to be all one piece, or to have the skirt detach. Once I am at the hip roll section I will go from there…

 

Progress of the sailor collar and front bow. I am constructing the brooch out of half of a clear holiday ornament. Currently just pinned to the mannequin form.:

Mars_5

Detail of my progress on the sailor collar and back bow. Also I have sewn a zipper into the back of the leotard:

Mars_4

 

More progress to come, see ya soon!

 

 

Leave a Reply

